Gor Mahia Football Club was formed on the 17th of February 1968 when rival camps from Luo Union and Luo Sports Clubs opted to reconcile their differences and merge to form one club.

Among the clubs’ founders included Tom Mboya, the then Minister for Economic Development, Prof. Bethwell Ogot, Prof. Francis Ojany, Samuel Ayany, Prof. Simeon Ominde, Onyango Ayoki, Joab Omino and Zacharia Ramogo.

The name Gor Mahia was suggested by Aggrey Olango.

Zacharia Ramogo and Prof. Ojany were elected the club’s first interim chairman and secretary respectively.

Gor Mahia participated in the league and won the title in its debut season. 

Leave a comment