Gor Mahia in Kenyan league


Gor Mahia have won the domestic league a record 18 times, 6 more times than their nearest challengers AFC Leopards. Gor Mahia’s first league title came in a debut season in 1968 and their last title in the 2018-19 season.

In 1976, Gor Mahia won the league unbeaten, a feat they replicated in 2015. Gor Mahia have also won the league in three consecutive seasons three times: 1983, 1984 and 1985; 2013, 2014 and 2015 and also in 2017, 2018 and 2018/19 season. No other team has done the three-peat more than once.

Since its formation in 1968, Gor Mahia have participated in all league seasons.

Gor Mahia in domestic cups

Football Association Cup

Gor Mahia have won the domestic FA cup 8 times, with its first win coming in 1981 when they beat Busia United 2-1 in the FA Challenge Cup. With the domestic cup rebranded in 1986 as Moi Golden Cup after several years of not being played, Gor Mahia would win it 3 times in a row (1986, 1987 and 1988) to keep the trophy for good.

After a long trophy drought, Gor Mahia reclaimed the domestic cup in 2008 by beating Posta Rangers 2-0 in the final. Gor Mahia won the trophy again in 2011 and 2012, beating Sofapaka in the finals on both occasions.

Gor Mahia have finished runners-up on 4 other occasions, losing to Nakuru All Stars in the 1969 finals, AFC Leopards in 1991 and 2013 and Kenya Breweries in 1993.

Other Domestic Cups

The Top 8 Cup was played between 2011 and 2016 with Gor Mahia winning it twice. In 2012 Gor Mahia beat Ulinzi Stars 2-0 in the final before overcoming Sony Sugar FC 2-1 in the 2015 final. Gor Mahia lost the 2016 final to Muhoroni Youth FC.

Since 2009, Gor Mahia have won the Super Cup six times. They won the cup in 2009 by beating Mathare United, in 2013 and 2017 by beating Tusker FC, in 2015 by beating Sofapaka FC, in 2018 by beating AFC Leopards and in the 2019/20 season by beating Bandari FC.

Leave a comment



Follow us.